UNT Awards Grants for Autonomous Vehicle Research

Maurizio Manzo and Hector Siller in the College of Engineering, along with Abdulrahman Habib in the College of Science, were selected by UNT’s Jim McNatt Institute for Logistics Research as one of four teams to receive a seed grant.

These three University of North Texas faculty members are working on a project to use embedded fiber optical sensing for autonomous vehicles to increase day-to-day tracking of a variety of measurements.

AMMPI Faculty Member receives 2020 NSF CAREER Award

Dr. Diana Berman, an Assistant Professor in Materials Science & Engineering, is the recipient of a 2020 NSF CAREER Award. According to the NSF website, this Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) grant supports fundamental research to elucidate a new strategy of manufacturing nanoporous ceramic structures with controllable structure and composition and programmable mechanical stability.

Nature publishes paper on long-range nonspreading propagation of sound beam through periodic layered structure

Abstract: Linear spreading of a wave packet or a Gaussian beam is a fundamental effect known in evolution of quantum state and propagation of optical/acoustic beams. The rate of spreading is determined by the diffraction coefficient D which is proportional to the curvature of the isofrequency surface. Here, we analyzed dispersion of sound in a solid-fluid layered structure and found a flex point on the isofrequency curve where D vanishes for given direction of propagation and frequency.

Nature publishes paper on sub-wavelength lateral detection of tissue-approximating masses using an ultrasonic metamaterial lens

Abstract: Practically applied techniques for ultrasonic biomedical imaging employ delay-and-sum (DAS) beamforming which can resolve two objects down to 2.1λ within the acoustic Fresnel zone. Here, we demonstrate a phononic metamaterial lens (ML) for detection of laterally subwavelength object features in tissue-like phantoms beyond the phononic crystal evanescent zone and Fresnel zone of the emitter. The ML produces metamaterial collimation that spreads 8x less than the emitting transducer. Utilizing collimation, 3.6x greater lateral resolution beyond the Fresnel zone limit was achieved.

New Foam Could Change Building Industry

Funded by a National Science Foundation grant, a research team led by Nandika D'Souza in the Department of Mechanical Engineering has created a new insulation foam that is not only safer than conventional polyurethane-based products, but is also stronger, compostable and energy-efficient. The research crossed the disciplines of construction engineering and mechanical engineering, programs that were recently merged into one department.

AMMPI faculty becomes Fellow of International Association of Advanced Materials

We are happy to announce Dr. Francis D'Souza, AMMPI faculty and  Distinguished Research Professor of Chemistry at UNT has become a Fellow of International Association of Advanced Materials for year 2020 In recognition for the contribution to “Advancement of Materials to Global Excellence” along with the entitlement to use the designatory letters “FIAAM”. 

UNT AMMPI faculty study increased material reliability for army drones

DENTON (UNT), Texas — Diana Berman, Samir Aouadi and Andrey Voevodin of the department of Materials Science and Engineering, the University of North Texas, are applying their expert knowledge in tribology – the study of friction – to rethink the combustion engines that power aerial Army drones with a $780,000 grant from the Army Research Laboratory in Adelphi, Maryland.

AMMPI researchers receive $1 million grant to study stress deformation on metal alloys for aerospace military applications

A UNT Engineering research team is working to better understand how metal alloys function at the atomic level with a $1 million grant from the Department of Defense, under the U.S. Air Force Office of Scientific Research.

The team consists of three experts from the Department of Materials Science and Engineering: Principal investigator professor Srinivasan Srivilliputhur and co-PIs Rajarshi Banerjee, a Presidential and Regents Professor and University Distinguished Research Professor Michael Baskes, a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering.