UNT awarded almost $2 million in NSF funding to study the rules of physics

UNT awarded almost $2 million in NSF funding to study the rules of physics

Can engineering change the basic laws of physics? That is one of the questions three professors and a former student at the University of North Texas are attempting to answer.

Arup Neogi, a professor in the College of Science’s Department of Physics, is the principal investigator on a $1,997,222 National Science Foundation grant that will explore such questions.

AMMPI engineer's research looks beyond paint, metals and ceramics

A UNT materials scientist is investigating a secret underneath the final layer of paint on Alessandro Allori's Portrait of Grand Duchess Bianca Capello de Medici with Her Son. The portrait, which was painted more than 500 years ago, is one piece of a story about a controversial royal family. The painting currently is being treated and studied by Paintings Conservation Fellow Laura Hartman in the Dallas Museum of Art's visible conservation studio.

AMMPI's Faculty elected to national board of directors

UNT Professor of Materials Science and Engineering Thomas Scharf.

DENTON (UNT), Texas – University of North Texas Professor of Materials Science and Engineering Thomas Scharf has been elected to the national Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers (STLE) board of directors.

Scharf's research interests include physical and chemical vapor deposition of ceramic and metallic thin films for moving mechanical assemblies, atomic layer deposition of nanocrystalline solid lubricant thin films for rolling element bearings, micro- and nano-tribology studies of solid lubricants and hard coatings, and more.

AMMPI part of a $20 million grant to research new ways to keep soldiers safe

DENTON, Texas (UNT) — An institute with the University of North Texas’s College of Engineering is part of a new cooperative agreement established by the Army Research Laboratory. The Advanced Materials and Manufacturing Processes Institute will be working with three other universities to research new ways to keep soldiers safe. 

“This is a large and significant award for UNT,” said Tom McCoy, Vice President for Research and Innovation at UNT. “It will have the potential of providing improved protection for the warfighter and it will enhance the research enterprise at UNT.”

AMMPI faculty member, Dr. Diana Berman, wins prestigious award

diana berman

DENTON (UNT), Texas -- University of North Texas College of Engineering assistant professor Diana Berman has earned the prestigious 2017 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from the Oak Ridge Associated Universities. The award, which is aimed at enhancing the research and professional growth of young faculty, is one of the most prestigious awards for professors teaching engineering, sciences, mathematics and policy management or education.

Dr. Jincheng Du receives new DOE EFRC award to study material degradation

Materials Science and Engineering faculty Dr. Jincheng Du is part of a newly awarded Department of Energy (DOE) Energy Frontier Research Center (EFRC) to study materials degradation. The EFRC Center for Performance and Design of Nuclear Waste Forms and Containers (WastePD) is the first center created in the nation to address the degradation of the diverse group of materials including glass, ceramics and metals. The WastePD team consist of Prof.

The first group of AMMPI researchers participated in cryogenic training workshop

AMMPI cryogenic traning workshop


On Friday June 9th, the first group of Faculty, researchers and students visited AMMPI to take part in a presentation given by Juan Bahena from Quantum Design Company on our new cryogenic DYNA COOL instrument.

The PPMS DYNA COOL is an instrument for extreme low temperature and high magnetic field experiments. This instrument will help AMMPI researchers deliver new studies on cutting edge materials.